top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAstrid

Turmeric Banana Overnight Oats - refined sugar free!


Overnight oats are my absolute favourite go-to breakfast! I actually always prep oats the night before, even when I heat them up the next morning, because it gives the oats time to soak up all the delicious flavours of the mix. I also add a TON of seeds to my oats, which are much more effectively digested after being soaked!


This oat recipe is a particular favourite of mine as the soaked combo of smashed banana/raisins/cinnamon creates a naturally sweet flavour that requires no added sugar! I have a huge sweet tooth and always seem to have to add maple syrup/sugar to my oats unless there's banana in them. So this makes this recipe even more nutritious.


The chia/flax seeds are optional in this recipe, they don't add to the flavour, but I always make sure to have them in my oats because of the huge nutritional benefits they have! Both seeds are great for digestion/healthy fats which our body needs, but flax seeds in particular are great on top of porridge as they promote the absorption of iron from the oats! So do raisins, btw, which is also in this recipe- finally a good come back to "but where do you get your iron from?".


Turmeric has been used in India for centuries as a powerful medicinal herb, and a spice of course. It contains an array of health benefits: acting as an anti-inflammatory, containing anti oxidants and known to lower the risk of heart disease.


Ingredients:

- 1/2 cup oats (I prefer using whole rolled oats)

- 1 cup plant milk

- 1 mashed banana

- a generous handful of raisins (about 100-120g)

- 1 tbsp chia seeds

- 1 tbsp ground flax seeds

- 1/2 tsp cinnamon

- 1/4 tsp turmeric


Method: get a mason jar (or a bowl, just anything you can seal or clingfilm the top of!), fill it with all the goodies and mix! Refrigerate overnight, eat cold or microwave for 1 1/2 mins, stir, then heat for another min. Top with extra seeds/ berries!


Did you try this recipe? Let me know on my insta @veganastrid !

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page